Background

The German music award ECHO was one the most important and renowned music awards worldwide. Each year, the Deutsche Phono-Akademie, the cultural institute of the Bundesverband Musikindustrie (German music industry federation), awarded the ECHO to honour the most successful and outstanding achievements of German and international musicians. It all began with the ECHO Award in 1992; in 1994 the ECHO KLASSIK Award was established, and since 2010 the ECHO JAZZ Award had complemented the ECHO – German Music Award brand.

The ECHO KLASSIK awards were among the highlights of the classical music year, annually bringing together all the big names on the classical scene for a sparkling gala event. While paying due respect to great recordings, ECHO KLASSIK had always aimed to recognize and reward young talent and bring the fascination and variety of classical music to a wider audience.

DEUTSCHE PHONO-AKADEMIE

The Deutsche Phono-Akademie (German phono academy) had been founded on 27th September 1973 as the non-profit-making cultural institute of the Bundesverband Musikindustrie (German music industry association). Aside from supporting musical talents, it was the aim of the Deutsche Phono-Akademie to honour outstanding artists and to bring those political, cultural, scientific and business groups associated with the musical arts field closer together.

In 1992, the Deutsche Phono-Akademie took the groundbreaking step of establishing the name ECHO for an award to mark achievements in the field of recorded music at both national and international level. The Deutsche Phono-Akademie was host of the ECHO, the ECHO KLASSIK and the ECHO JAZZ award.

The cultural institute of the Bundesverband Musikindustrie attracted public attention to the music business and placed upcoming artists in the spotlight. The Deutsche Phono-Akademie saw itself as a neutral and unifying mediator among the performers, the media, politics, business and the public, and highlighted new paths for synergies.

Contact:

Bundesverband Musikindustrie e.V.
Reinhardtstraße 29
10117 Berlin
Germany

Tel.: +49 (30) 59 00 38-0
Fax: +49 (30) 59 00 38-38

E-Mail: info[at]musikindustrie.de

www.musikindustrie.de/

HINTERGRUND

Der Deutsche Musikpreis ECHO gehörte zu den wichtigsten und renommiertesten Musikawards der Welt. Die Deutsche Phono-Akademie, das Kulturinstitut des Bundesverbandes Musikindustrie, ehrte mit dem ECHO jährlich die erfolgreichsten und besten Leistungen nationaler und internationaler Musiker. Startschuss war die Verleihung des ECHO 1992, 1994 wurde der ECHO KLASSIK ins Leben gerufen und seit 2010 bildete der ECHO JAZZ das dritte Standbein der Marke ECHO – Deutscher Musikpreis.

Die Verleihung des ECHO KLASSIK zählte zu den Höhepunkten des Klassik-Jahres: Alljährlich traf sich das Who’s who der klassischen Musik zu dieser glanzvollen Gala. Neben der Würdigung besonderer Produktionen war ein wesentliches Ziel des ECHO KLASSIK, junge Talente mit der Auszeichnung zu fördern und die Faszination und Vielfalt klassischer Musik einem breiten Publikum nahe zu bringen.

DIE DEUTSCHE PHONO-AKADEMIE

Die Deutsche Phono-Akademie wurde am 27. September 1973 als Kulturinstitut der Musikindustrie gegründet. Die Aufgaben der Deutschen Phono-Akademie umfassten neben der Förderung musikalischer Talente auch die Auszeichnung herausragender Künstler sowie Bemühungen, die am Musikleben beteiligten Gruppen aus Politik, Kultur, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft einander näher zu bringen.

Unter dem Namen ECHO gelang der Deutschen Phono-Akademie 1992 die Etablierung einer national und international anerkannten Auszeichnung für herausragende Künstler. Die Deutsche Phono-Akademie war Ausrichter des ECHO, des ECHO KLASSIK und des ECHO JAZZ.

Sie verschaffte der Musikwirtschaft Gehör und den Nachwuchskünstlern Rampenlicht. Zwischen den ausübenden Künstlern, den Medien, der Politik, der Wirtschaft und der Öffentlichkeit verstand sie sich als neutrale, verbindende und vermittelnde Instanz und zeigte neue Wege für Synergien auf.

Kontakt:
Bundesverband Musikindustrie e.V.
Reinhardtstraße 29
10117 Berlin

Tel.: +49 (30) 59 00 38-0
Fax: +49 (30) 59 00 38-38

E-Mail: info[at]musikindustrie.de