ECHO KLASSIK 2017: This Year's Winners Have Been Chosen!

Award ceremony to be held on 29th October in the Elbphilharmonie concert hall, hosted by Thomas Gottschalk

Tickets go on sale on 3rd August


Joyce DiDonato, Matthias Goerne, Daniel Hope, Kent Nagano, Maurizio Pollini, Fazıl Say, Christian Tetzlaff, the Vienna Piano Trio, Thomas Fritzsch, Sebastian Knauer, Linus Roth and next-generation artist Lucas Debargue are only a few of the winners of this year’s ECHO KLASSIK awards. The Deutsche Phono-Akademie, which acts as the cultural arm of Germany’s Federal Music Industry Association (Bundesverband Musikindustrie, BVMI), also announced today that tenor Jonas Kaufmann, whose album “Dolce Vita” topped the charts in terms of sales, will be honoured in the category “Bestseller of the Year 2017”. This year’s ECHO KLASSIK comprises a total of 54 awards in 22 categories. For a list of all prize winners, please consult the bottom of this press release or visit

The ECHO KLASSIK trophies will be handed out on Sunday, 29 October 2017 during a gala event in the Elbphilharmonie Concert Hall in Hamburg. The German public TV channel ZDF will broadcast the ceremony that evening starting at 10 pm. Once again this year, popular television presenter Thomas Gottschalk will host the ECHO KLASSIK, marking the fourth time overall he acts as master of ceremonies for the event. The names of those award winners who will perform live that evening will be announced shortly.

Tickets for the ceremony will go on sale next week on Thursday, 3rd August 2017, at 6 pm on or via the eventim ticket hotline at +49 (0)1806-570070.

“Classical music forms an essential part of our heritage and represents one of the fundamental foundations of our culture”, notes BVMI Managing Director Florian Drücke. “All of the artists receiving an ECHO KLASSIK this year have made outstanding contributions to this heritage in the 2016/17 music year. Their performances have brought audiences closer to numerous works of traditional classical music, but also to so-called New Classics. Whether its brilliant solo artists, collaborating ensembles, global superstars or exciting young newcomers – each of these musicians has helped to foster the extraordinary diversity of classical music and ensured that it continues to reach and inspire people of all ages and social backgrounds on all possible distribution channels. Indeed, distribution is of extreme importance to the future of classical music, especially in our increasingly digital world, and this also makes it a key priority for the ECHO KLASSIK. I’m already looking forward to a wonderful award ceremony and all the amazing guests and artists who will perform in the new and perhaps most spectacular concert hall in the world, the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg.”

Here is an overview of all winners of the ECHO KLASSIK 2017 (in alphabetical order; for an overview by category, please visit

Aida Garifullina
Boston Symphony Orchestra
Camille Thomas | Julien Libeer
Chorus Musicus Köln | Das Neue Orchester | Christoph Spering
Christian Tetzlaff
Daniel Hope
Daniil Trifonov
Die 12 Cellisten der Berliner Philharmoniker
Dominik Wagner
Eva van Grinsven
Fazıl Say
Gábor Boldoczki
Giovanni Antonini | Il Giardino Armonico
Henning Kraggerud  | Norwegian Chamber Orchestra
Ian Bostridge
Jan Lisiecki | NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester | Krzysztof Urbański
Johannes Moser
Jonas Kaufmann
Joyce DiDonato
Kent Nagano
Kristian Bezuidenhout | Freiburger Barockorchester | Gottfried von der Goltz
Ksenija Sidorova
L'Achéron | François Joubert-Caillet
Linos Ensemble
Linus Roth | London Symphony Orchestra | Thomas Sanderling
Luca Pisaroni | Christiane Karg |
Sonya Yoncheva |  Thomas Hampson | Rolando Villazón | Chamber Orchestra Of Europe | Yannick Nézet-Séguin
Lucas Debargue

Maria Sournatcheva | Göttinger Symphonie Orchester | Christoph-Mathias Mueller
Marianne Crebassa
Matthias Goerne
Maurizio Pollini
Werner Dabringhaus
Mission Mozart (mit Lang Lang, Wiener Philharmoniker, Nikolaus Harnoncourt; Regie: Christian Berger)
Mozarteumorchester Salzburg | Constantin Trinks
Neeme Järvi | Orchestre de la Suisse Romande
Nils Mönkemeyer | Julia Fischer | Sabine Meyer | William Youn
Notos Quartett
Piano Duo Genova & Dimitrov | Bulgarian National Radio Symphony Orchestra | Yordan Kamdzhalov
Pretty Yende
Purcell: The Indian Queen (mit MusicAeterna, Teodor Currentzis; Regie: Peter Sellars)
Quartetto di Cremona
Quatuor Molinari
Renaud Capuçon | Wiener Symphoniker & Orchestre de l'Opéra de Paris (Philippe Jordan) | Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France (Myung-Whun Chung)
RIAS Kammerchor
Roman Trekel | Anne Schwanewilms | Houston Symphony | Hans Graf
Sebastian Knauer | Arash Safaian
Sebastian Manz | SWR Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra | Antonio Méndez
Thomas Fritzsch
Thomas Günther
Wiener Klaviertrio
Yoel Gamzou